News Israel today

latest news from Israel in english

Samoa and Kiribati first stepped into 2016

Residents of the Pacific island Nations of Samoa and Kiribati were the first to be in 2016. They will be followed by Australia and New Zealand, and at least in 2016 will step Hawaii and American Samoa.

Interestingly, until 2011 the Independent State of Samoa has traditionally been one of the last countries, welcoming the New year. However, as of 31 December 2011, Samoa changed time zone, being West of the line of change of date. This was done in order to facilitate the state’s economic engagement with Australia and New Zealand. The result is that The lives in different dates with their nearest neighbours.

We will remind that this year New year celebrations in Europe marred by terrorist threats from fighters of «the Islamic state». The city authorities of Brussels, where last year at the new year celebrations were about 100 thousand people, has canceled all festive events, including traditional new year’s fireworks.

Samoa and Kiribati first stepped into 2016 31.12.2015

Поделиться в соц. сетях

Опубликовать в Google Buzz
Опубликовать в Google Plus
Опубликовать в LiveJournal
Опубликовать в Мой Мир
Опубликовать в Одноклассники
Latest news from Israel in english © 2010-2015
38 queries